Some people think that countries should produce food their population eats and import less food as much as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a prevalent notion that the supreme authority of several regions should create some policy to prioritize producing for their population and limit purchasing stuff from abroad. Personally, I totally do not concur with that statement and I will give my own opinion in this essay.

It is understandable why countries should be encouraged to produce food domestically and alleviate reliance on food import. To begin with, in terms of budget, it will enable countries to allocate less budget on importing refreshments from other regions, which can cost a huge amount of money and time on account of the long delivery route between continents such as Asia and Europe. Additionally, there is another noticeable point that before being officially consumed widely, it must be examined meticulously to detect abnormalities in food, which can take a long time to meet the demands of food security. Moreover, producing food self-sufficiency also improves food safety because it is planted and taken care of carefully under the supervision of the experts that are nominated by the government to ensure health of their citizens. In other words, inhabitants are the significant factor that contribute to the enhancement of the countries, so the health is always considered as the top priority of any regions.

However, I believe that this perspective is not just achievable in many countries. First, the territory and natural condition of each country is different and not appropriate for several kind of food crops and fruit trees because if the farmer still attempts to plant these kinds of plants, it may lead to several risky consequences that can affect to people’s health and cause economic loss. Taking Somalia as an instance of this issue, this region faces recurring droughts, inconsistent rainfall and extreme temperatures which hinder agricultural productivity, so Somalia imports a significant portion of its food including grains, sugar and vegetables oil. On the other hand, the land for constructing residential areas and recreational amenities will be given over for agricultural purposes which leads to the deficiency of accommodation and increase the number of homeless people.

In conclusion, the countries should pay more attention to refreshment majors and improve the quality of these products to provide the citizens with well-qualified and safe production. Besides, the government of the countries had better import some deficient food that cannot be planted in their regions in order to develop the inter-continental relationship.