Today, more people are waiting until their thirties to get married and have children. Do you think it’s a negative or positive development.

There’s an increasing number of youngsters choosing to postpone their marriage until their 30s. Yet, this phenomenon has raised public debate as to whether its overall impact has been positive or negative. While there are certainly valid arguments to the contrary, I personally believe that late marriage would bring benefits to individuals as well as society.

First of all, it is an indisputable fact that psychological development always lags behind physical growth. In this case, some young adults may not get virtually matured even if they have reached the lawful age line. More often the case, it’s when they have started their career or even stepped into society for a couple of years that they are able to shoulder their responsibility. In other words, early marriage means irresponsible or not fully prepared to become parents.

More importantly, though, delaying marriage enables more people to pursue their academic achievement. In earlier times, one of the most significant factors for people to make up a family in their 20s is the lack of education, particularly higher education. Now, however, it is not uncommon for an average student to receive advanced education since the accomplishment of compulsory education. As a result, the national literacy level has been increased greatly, which is conducive to social development.

By way of conclusion, I reaffirm the position that it’s appropriate to walk into marriage in one’s thirties for the sake of an individual family and the whole society.