In today's world, private companies rather than government pay for and conduct most scientific research. Do you think the advantages outweigh disadvantages?

Scientific research plays an important role and no longer predominantly takes place in the public sector. In the present-day world, the majority of scientific research is funded by privately owned corporations instead of central governments. Although this phenomenon suffers from drawbacks, in my point of view, I maintain these advantages prevail over.

Firstly, should private entrepreneurs allocate funds for scientific research, will they contribute to the alleviation of pressure on the national budget. Consequently, governments will have sufficient money to invest in other crucial domains such as healthcare, education, and up-to-date facilities to enhance dwellers’ living standards. Moreover, only in this way will non-government firms gain considerable reputations of having responsibilities to society. For example, before publishing a lipstick into the market, businesses implement a test to analyze the reliability of it based on ingredients and result after trial.

Secondly, science is likely to flourish under the mandate of private companies. Contrary to government policy, professionals have more motivation to implement studies efficiently if they work for non-government because they have plenty of time to experiment on new ideas instead of abiding by a strict 8-hour-per-day schedule. For that reason, the company may quickly reap benefits from research findings and earn revenues, especially with promising projects. Moreover, affluent private corporations do not have to confront with such limited budgets as the government does, therefore, not only does the experiments perform effectively but it also can broaden in scale.

In conclusion, from my perspective, private firms can devote more power to conduct scientific research as a goal and generally have to deal with less “red tape” than the government.