Today, TV channels broadcast men's sport shows more than women's sport shows. Why? Should TV channels give equal showtime for women's sports and men's sports?

Sport shows for men on television are dominating those for women nowadays. This essay will discuss the reason behind this phenomenon and state the writer’s opinion on whether such shows should be devoted the same time.

To begin with, there are some key factors contributing to the fact that men’s sport shows are more popular on TV. First, the residue of sexual discrimination is still existent. For thousands of years, men have been considered the symbol of strength; as a result, sport shows with men are more well-known and are in greater demand. Second, men are more fond of sports than women; in addition, they prefer watching shows with participants of the same gender.

Although some people may believe sport programs should be shown for an equal amount of time for both genders, I would argue that keeping the current showtime is acceptable. This is because TV channels need to cater to viewer’s desire in order to increase sport shows’ popularity. If the showtime of sport programs are equal but viewers are not interested, TV channels cannot resolve the matter entirely. Instead, gender discrimination on television sport programs can only be tackled by encouraging women to engage in sports more often, thereby balance the amount of time of both women’s and men’s shows.

In conclusion, broadcasting more men’s sport shows than women’s is an ongoing issue. While there are numerous reasons for this, equalizing the showtime of them is not a reasonable way to solve it.