Today, TV channels broadcast men’s sport shows more than women’s sport shows.

Why is it the case?

Should TV channels give equal showtime for women’s sport and men’s sport?

In our contemporary world, there has been a climbing unfairness in media coverage between male and female due to two key reasons, and therefore TV channels must increase both quantity and quality for women’s sports coverage.

First and foremost, women’s sports lack a strong fanbase and supporters is the seed of the inequality in airtime between two sexs’ shows. The vast majority of sports fan prefer men’s sports due to their strength, speed and great performance, which is rarely observed in women’s area. In addition, prejudices against women still exist and thus general population still shows discrimination towards them. However, television viewership is not the only explanation for this disparity because in recent years, fanbases of female athletes have been growing but the adjustment in airtime is insignificant. Hence, the deeply rooted prejudices and sexism are clearly shown, especially not only in low-quality shows but also media attention.

Eradicating this gender favoritism is an essential step in the purpose of bringing out equality in sports for women and men, and TV channels must give equal showtime and higher-quality coverage to cope with this issue. Furthermore, equal showtime allocated for female sport events not only arouses fan interest but also sends a message that women’s sports are as worthy as men’s. Whereas this process is happening, TV channels can also choose different approaches that helps increase the quality of women’s sports. This can be achieved by hiring more female employees such as reporters or sportcoasters and enhancing the quality of women’s sports and making it more fastinating by adding more contents and production values such as graphics and interviews. All mentioned factors can contribute to higher viewership, and ultimately, higher levels of excitement for fans.

To summarise what has been stated, discrimination towards females is still available in aspects of our society, especially in sport area. People and sport organisers must be held accountable for demolishing sexism and bringing sex equality to sports in order to create greater, more equal competitions.