Today TV channels show more men’s sports than women’s sports. Why is the case? Should TV channels give equal time for women’s sports and men’s sports ?

From distant past to present day, men’s sports tend to have a more coverage than women’s sports on TV channels. This situation leads to some conception about gender inequality. Frankly, I am of the opinion that the coverage of women’s sports and men’s sports should be equal for some particular reasons.

The fact is that men’s sports are more renowned than women’s sports. Therefore, the broadcasters must show more of the former in demand of their financial profits. They have to keep themselves updated about the trend and customer insight to provide the most suitable programs for their viewers. For instance, SEAGAME 2019 was broadcasted on many Vietnamese channels, as it was the male football team who competed. Another explanation for this difference about the coverage is that men is usually much better than women at physical strength. Hence, they can engage in almost every field of sport and also join the more intense one like boxing. The more intense these sports are, the more exciting the viewers are. That could justify for why the broadcasters air more men’s sport than women’s sports.

Nevertheless, it is considered that the television station should let me men’s sports and women’s sports be in equal coverage due to gender equality. If women’s sports have not been as popular as men’s one, they should be encouraged to engage in more fields. Both women and men make every effort to do their best in sport, so people should appreciate that effort by broadcasting those sports at the same coverage in recognition of their attempt. It might also help women’s sport to be more reputable in the future. Women’s sports seem to gain more attention these days, so it is worthy to invest more in them.

On the whole, men’s sports are now somehow more recognized than women’s sports mainly because of their physical strength and the assumption about sport. However, TV channels should provide equal time for them to ascertain gender equality.