Today, TV channels show more men’s sports than women’s sports. Why is this the case? Should TV channels give equal time for women’s sport and men’s sport?

In this day and age, the imbalance of screen time on tv programs between male sports and female sports has caused a debatable issue. Many viewers claim that this phenomenon has happened for a long time, and it is unnecessary to make any changes, whereas others argue that tv channels have to offer similar time of broadcasting for both two types of sports. this essay aims at discussing some reasons behind this problem before presenting my opinion.

To begin with, there are a large number of causes for the dominance of male sports on tv programs. The first reason to be mentioned is the difference in watching habits between men and women. To be more specific, it is common in every countries that men account for the higher proportion of sport viewers, while women have the tendency to watch movies or music programs. As a result, male sports will certainly receive higher ratings than female sports, so it is understandable that broadcasters always prioritize screen time for men’s sports for the sake of their own profits. Secondly, it is undeniable that there is a dissimilarity in physical conditions between men and women. Therefore, sports for men are much more diversified, and men also give more attractive performances. Take the king sport football as an illustration, while men’s football matches are extremely welcomed and attract billions of audiences all around the world for the exciting and dynamic atmosphere, women’s football is regarded as monotonous and mild.

However, despite all the advantages that male’s sports brings, I personally believe that the screen time should be divided equally for both male and female sports. Firstly, giving the same amount of broadcasting time can deteriorate the gender discrimination, which is still a serious issue even in the contemporary era. In other words, if more female athletes appear on tv and perform excellently just as any other male athletes, the prejudice about women’s ability will be eliminated. this is also a useful way to help women receive full social recognition as they deserve, as well as encourage more women to embark on sports. In addition, enhancing female sports’ screen time can also ameliorate the public image of female athletes. As a result, it is possible that they have higher chance to sign new advertising contracts and gain higher remuneration from endorsements. For instance, aside from the main job as a tennis player, Naomi Osaka also participates in numerous advertising campaigns, which make her the highest-paid female athletes according to a research in 2021.

In conclusion, the phenomenon of women’s sports being underestimated when broadcasting is highly common and serious these days. In order to create an equal society and to nurture women’s ability in sports, tv channels should equilibrate the broadcasting time of both parties.