Too much attention is paid to and too much money is spent on keeping pets, while people throughout the world are starving.

Discuss the arguments for and against keeping pets. Do you Agree?

Nowadays, there is a debate whether people should spend a lot of money on animals or not whereas there are many famishing people around the world. In order to understand it better, it’s vital to bear in mind some important considerations.

First of all, it’s worth considering the importance of having a pet, as they play an important role on supporting humans on many disabilities such as helping deaf people, or even preventing some mental disorders diseases, namely depression, since they bring extreme joy. Not to forget the fact that lately animals are being considered as part of the family to many of us. Also, it seems that people who are brought up with a pet develop a caring nature and empathy towards others, and are likely to be the ones who would support those who need the most.

However, it’s known that people hunger all over the word has a significant importance and people should be more aware of it, although many of them don’t acknowledge the seriousness of this issue. Instead of spending heaps of money with futile things, it could be used to support a poor child in need, or some other type of charity for instance. Nevertheless, animals are not to blame for the starvation in the world, as the amount spent on them are not too relevant compared to other expensive human’s gadgets.

To sum up, I strongly believe that the money spent on animals has no relation to the fact that people are starving. Even if it would be cut, it wouldn’t make a significant change. Instead, people should care more for others introducing some alternative ways to support them, such as donations, as well as the government should look after the economic, political and ecological aspects more in depth.