Topic 1: In the future, it seems it will be more difficult to live on the Earth. Some people think more money should be spent on researching other planets to live, such as Mars. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that the present living conditions becomes increasingly unfavorable, making it difficult to sustain humans' life on the Earth. While I accept that it is vital to tackle this issue, I believe that allocating money on exploring other alien planets such as Mars to populate should be given a low priority.

On the one hand, there are several reasons why life on the Earth becomes more and more unsustainable. One primary reason is the over-exploitation of finite natural resources, which are gradually depleted. For example, the massive expenditure on fossil fuels such as coal, oil or gas to generate electricity adversely affects the environment and therefore these resources will soon be exhausted. Additionally, contaminated environment has caused a great concern today. In Viet Nam, for instance, millions of rubbish are dumped into the river by industrial factors every year, killing aquatic life and poisoning drinking water.

However, I would argue that searching for other planets to reside in is a tremendous waste of resources. Firstly, a huge amount of money is required to carry out this project, which put a heavy strain on state budget. These financial sources should be spent on raising living standard and providing good education and healthcare services for citizens in the country. Furthermore, it is advisable that money should be contributed on developing environmentally-friendly technologies, which reduces our over-reliance on fossil fuels and protects our environment from being seriously polluted.

In conclusion, it seems ludicrous to suggest spending money on researching other planets like Mars to settle.