Topic 1: With the pressures on today’s young people to succeed academically, some people believe that non-academic subjects at school (e.g: physical education and cookery) should be removed from the syllabus so that children can concentrate wholly on academic subjects.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

People have different views about the subjects of youngsters at school. While some agree with the idea that vocational courses, such as physical education and should be replaced in the curriculum, I disagree with that point of view.

There is a variety of reasons why non-academic subjects should not be replaced fully by academic courses. Firstly, non-academic classes gain a wealth of practical skills and work experience more than academic classes. This means that the more learners face up with realistic work or obstacles, the sooner they will be qualified workers. By doing this, they are likely to save a great deal of time studying at school without committing 4 years as academic students undertake. Secondly, vocational training helps students make money as soon as possible, especially, with low-income families. In other words, after graduation from school, they will get decent jobs in order to support their families, which puts less pressure on the budget of their parents.

In addition, there are also many advantages why non-academic subjects should-be taken into consideration. Firstly, if students excessively stick to academic ones, they will get involved in the sedentary lifestyle. It is because that if students spend many hours sitting at school, then they will not have opportunities to take part in outdoor activities like physical education. As a result, when they maintain a long time to learn academic courses without any physical actions, then they intend to passive lifestyle. Secondly, thanks to non-academic subjects, it will meet a balance of labor markets. For instance, in Canada or Japan, these countries often employ unskilled workforce to do manual ones. Therefore, it could lead these nations to get enough employees annually.

In conclusion, while there are some drawbacks to non-academic subjects, the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.