Topic: Family changes

In recent years, the family structure has changed, as well as family roles. What types of changes are occurring ?

Do you think these changes are positive or negative?

In our fast-paced and highly integrated world, there are irrefutably shifts in family configuration and member roles in each family. From my perspective, these modifications do wonders for the families’ income and financial burden.

First and foremost, as regards the noticeable transformation in family structure, having evolved for a long decade, the household size has a tendency to be more diverse and complex. More specifically, the extended families with a lot of generations shift into detached nuclear families which principally consists of parents and children. In practice, other types of the family such as single-parent families, childless families, blended families or homosexual families become more prevalent. As a result, smaller family sizes can decrease the pressure from pleasing other families members and the financial burden of the household. In addition, they also promote privacy and personal space for each member and care towards others. When duties and involvement in other member’s business decline, each member can utilise more time to develop themselves and pursue their own dream.

Secondly, when it comes to member roles, with the dominance of feminism, breadwinners can be wives while house chores are completed by the husband or there are some both working-parents. Moreover, women are the ones to manage the financial outcomes and incomes of the household as they spend more reasonable budgets than men. Therefore, the parents share their domestic activities and shoulder the financial burden together as the woman’s role in the household is equal to the man’s. Consequently, the income of the families increases drastically as women nowadays climb high in the career leader instead of being housewives.

In general, looking on the bright side, these modifications have some positive corollaries rendering our life easier and happier.