Topic many people put their personal information online address telephone number and so on for purposes such as signing up for social networks or online banking Is this a positive or negative development

People have different views about providing their personal information to online websites for different daily purposes. Even though it appears to be more advantageous to the users, this trend has some serious drawbacks.

On the one hand, there are various reasons why people believe that updating personal data online facilitates a superior experience. Firstly, it would be convenient for customers to online purchase and pay the bill with just one click. This is clearly exemplified when people shop on e-commerce platforms such as Shopee or Tiki. Because their identifying information has already been synchronized by the first registration, they can save time to make a transaction. Secondly, the data can be recalled by the user anytime even if he forgets it. It would be beneficial for a person who has numerous passwords and change them periodically.

On the other hand, I believe that putting one's personal information has been detrimental for his property and mental. The main reason for believing this is that the users are potentially susceptible to criminal activities. The private information shared online including one's name, addresses or social security numbers can be exploited, so theft can easily break into that person's house. Moreover, the telephone number is publicized, one can be constantly bothered by unwanted call or message ads from telesales offering goods or services. This not only disturbs the recipient's job but also causes unnecessary irritation affecting work productivity.

In conclusion, although it might be more positive for people to buy online and remind them, I prefer that associating personal details with accounts has potential risks from cybercrime or spam messages. Given this situation, it is recommended that governments should establish privacy regulations for online shopping firms so as to mitigate security risks.