Topic: In the modern world, it is no longer necessary to use animals for food, clothing or medicine. To what extent do you agree or disagree? disagree?

That fauna species are harnessed as sources of materials for human consumption such as eating, wearing and curing diseases remains a source of controversy. From my perspective, I partially disagree to the statement that no longer are animals essential to be sacrificed for those activities.

On the one hand, human demands may be satisfied without animals’ overexploitation. The more developed are clinical techniques, the fewer animals are killed for medical purposes. For instance, a large amount of pain-killing drugs packaged in whether capsule or tablet derive from man-made materials instead of animal materials. Similarly, although many pants and shirts are made from cotton or synthetic materials, they are cost-effective in price and lucrative in design, which explicitly meets the demands of most city-dwellers.

On the other hand, it is discernible that animals play a inevitable role in meeting human’s varied demands. First and foremost, one plausible rationale which needs to be taken into account is that it is impossible to force everyone to become a vegetarian, fruitarian or breatharian rather than consuming greasy, lean meat, steak pie and fried chicken, which whet people’s appetite. Additionally, research has shown that animal products include a high proportion of protein, the deficiency of which may pose a threat to one’s fitness and growth. As a prime illustration, if an athlete whose daily intake contains all five main types of food partakes in a race, he will gain a competitive advantage with strong muscles over those eating cauliflower, broccoli and cereals. Secondly, some privileged individuals from affluent families in Vietnam would prefer woolen sweaters made of leathers, tailor-made long silk dress or luxurious jewelry like pearls, which obliquely demonstrate their superiority to others.

To be brief, although other products may substitute for animal products, the merits of utilizing animal products is undeniable such as providing inhabitants with nutritious food, superior jewelry and clothes which represent high living standards.