Topic: Some people maintain that universities should contribute the same amount of resources to their students’ sports activities as they do to their libraries. Do you agree or disagree with this notion? Why or why not?

Physical exercises are as significant as academic education. There is some debate as to whether the same amount of money should be spent on sporting facilities as that is spent on libraries. In my opinion, I strongly agree that elements improving students’ both physical and mental health such as sports activities must be a priority for two major reasons.

The primary reason is that a healthy mind must be supported by a healthy body. As university students are at the very first stage of adulthood, they probably have a high tendency for getting mental disorders that cause distress or impairment of personal functioning. Doing physical exercises is one of the best ways to relax and get away from the immense pressure of studies. It is also beneficial for students to spend their leisure time participating in physical games, rather than the virtual ones, due to the fact that extensive viewing of the game screen can lead to eye discomfort and irritation.

The following reason is that investment in sporting facilities can be greatly money-saving in the long term. Without the existence of physical workout, students might face several health problems, making it a serious issue in numerous countries. Because in the nations where health care is paid by the government, this problem can be an extremely heavy burden. With the money saved, universities can utilize the budget to organize the maintenance of educational facilities such as classrooms, libraries or laboratories in the future.

To conclude, sports activities and academic education have the same effect on student performance. Therefore, I am strongly inclined to the opinion that universities should be responsible for taking care of sporting facilities as much as libraries.