Topic: Some students have a part-time job while studying. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this trend and give your own opinion

Nowadays, part-time work is a popular job for young people, especially students. However, I strongly believe that this trend would bring both sides. In this essay, I will explore both the advantages and disadvantages of part time jobs with relevant examples.

One of the significant benefits for students to have a part-time job is that students can earn money. Taking a part-time job, in this point, students can pay a part of their living cost, and at the same time relieve their parents' burden . They can lend a helping hand to their parents financially, or they can afford their own tuition fees for higher education. Moreover, earning money also help students have a sense of independence, more superiority among their friends; it seems that starting their job they enter the world of adults. This can be an advantage when they go for higher studies. For instance, some universities prefer to admit students who have some amount of work experience. Last but not least, students can develop useful skills and experience which would be otherwise impossible if students only studied without working. During part time job students will develop many useful skills that'll help them in their professional life like team work, organizational skills, multi-tasking, time management, work initiative skills meeting etiquettes etc.

Despite the fact that there are many advantages in having a part time job, nobody cannot deny the fact that there are some drawbacks as well in having a part time job. Firstly, it affects on the study. While doing part time job, students will have a busy schedule and get less time for study and themselves. Consequently, students do not complete homework and review lessons for taking the test. They skip class to make money. Surveys have shown that about 10 percent of high school children who drop-out and discontinue higher studies, have part-time jobs. Furthermore, it also affects their health. Overwork makes them exhausted, tired and stressed.

To sum up, nothing is perfect. Working while studying definitely has benefits that help students to succeed in life; however, it also creates some problems. In my opinion, maintaining a job while studying is not what everyone can do. It demands lot of focus from the individual. On balance, however, I believe that parents should encourage their children to do the part-time job as it teaches them better qualities; provided that, they manage their daily routine properly.