Topic: To succeed in a business, one needs to know math.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is generally the case that mathematical skills have contributed to the success of entrepreneurs. While this notion can be reasonable for some business people, I opine that for many prosperous companies nowadays, employers do not need to do the calculations themselves.

It is common knowledge that math plays an integral role in operating a business. Firstly, an enormous number of calculations have to be conducted so as to determine the prices both appealing to buyers and sufficient to make the business financially healthy. Without the financial counting of all expenditures, the business people can easily overcharge or undercharge the customers for his products or services. Secondly, to maximize profits, the owners need to make the whole corporation system as cost-efficient as possible. This is why it is math statistics that are crucial to help them make decisions where and how capital should be allocated to. Usually, leaders of the companies pay attention to such figures as they acknowledged future developments of the organizations depend greatly on subsequent financial choices.

However, my belief is that should numeral skills not be one’s forte, it does not mean he or she cannot run a business successfully. The first reason is that employers can hire reliable workers to take charge of the accounting job. In the corporate world, it is not uncommon that the business owner is not the one who works with figures in his company; in fact, he is assisted by subordinates in the finance department. Another compelling reason is that delegating the bookkeeping tasks to employees might be an advisable practice. By doing so, the entrepreneurs can save plenty of time and cognitive space for other important decisions, such as launching a new product or adapting to the dynamic economic climate.

In conclusion, while it is true that mathematics could be of pivotal importance to a thriving company, I do not think its owner has to be adept at mathematical capacities. It would be a wiser investment to employ bookkeepers so that he can have more time for strategic work.