Topic: What are the advantages and disadvantages of taking a year off between school and university?

The number of students who graduate from high schools has a trend to take a gap year and spend time travelling, volunteering these days. This trend can bring out both advantages and disadvantages which will be clearly discoursed in this essay.

To begin with, several benefits are worth mentioning about this idea. First and foremost, taking a year off between high school and college plays a crucial role in refreshing the student’s spirit. Twelve-year continuously studying from primary school to high school is too difficult to handle for every youngster. By travelling in the gap year, they have a chance to relax, cogitate and find the right path for their future, especially those who are still making doubt about chosen option due to experiences they gain from journeys. Besides, a gap year helps students demonstrate better in university because of the motivation of going above and beyond established after long trips. An obvious illustration is that gap year students always have a trend to get higher college GPAs than non-gap year students.

Nevertheless, disadvantages deriving from interfering studying for a long time can be seen to some extent. Initially, travelling and relaxing can be extremely expensive and this pressure will put on parents when students can not make money right after graduating from school. Therefore, it is hard for poor families to satisfy their children’s aspirations. Moreover, taking a year off can make students get a later start, which may lead to losing their momentum and valuable opportunities. This exerts a negative impact on the mentality and desire to succeed in the youth as well as becomes the main reason for failure.

All thing considered, it is easily identified that taking a gap year possess both strongness and weaknesses which directly influence in youngsters’ studying and future. It is however an outstanding trend in the young generation in the modern world.