topic:In some countries , it is illegal for companies to reject job applicant for their age. Is this positive or negative development.

In some regions, it is considered illegal to asses a job application by applicant’s age. However, there are some jobs that the candidate’s age is the first important factor, but generally it is a positive trend to reduce unemployment.

To begin with, the first rational justification is that not all the youth are experienced enough. Companies should assess people by their workability and proficiency. That is, there are some jobs, like accounting and computer engineering, that needs specific skills. So, rejecting people because of their age before checking their ability and experience would be the detriment for both applicants and companies. Moreover, hiring people due to their eligibility not only reduce the unemployment rate but also help companies advance sooner.

There are another group of jobs that their first and most important criteria are the employee’s age. For example, kinder garden teachers should be able to play with children and understand their needs. So, the more they are younger the more they have ability and energy to communicate better with kids. Although, in some cases there are exceptions that an elderly is more capable of taking care of children. Therefore, hiring people should be based on their ability not their age.

In conclusion, I believe that most of the jobs need their own proficiency and people should be hired as for their ability. So, refusing and assessing employee only by their age should be illicit.