Topic:

Some people think that governments should give financial support to creative artists such as painters and musicians. Others believe that creative artists should be funded by alternative sources. Discuss both views and give your opinion

My essay:

Some people have different views about the funding of creative artists. While some people agree with the idea of governments should support for artists, others suggest that artworks should be funded by alternative sources. In my opinion, money for art projects should come from both governments and other sources.

On the one hand, there are some reasons why some art projects definitely need help from the state. In many countries, there are many works of art in public places such as streets, squares and docks area. These artworks represent culture, heritage and history. Besides, they act as landmarks or talking points for tourists and visitors which result in bring more benefits for business, society and governments. Therefore, local councils should support this kind of art which make our cities more interesting and attractive. Eiffel Tower, for example ,is one of a marvel of architecture in France,is the most-visited paid monument in the World.

On the other hand, it is argued that creative artists should be funded by other sources when governments have more important concerns, especially, when the budgets are stretched thin. Therefore,they take priority over spending on education, healthcare, infrastructure and security, among other areas,because these public services play an important role for a country to function properly. Another reason is that artists do a job like any other professional, they can earn their own money by selling their works of art.

In conclusion, there are some reasons why artists should rely on alternative sources of financial support, but in my opinion governments should help when it is necessary.