Scientific research should be carried out and controlled by the governments rather than private companies. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, scientific research across the world is carried out and controlled, sometimes by governments, sometimes by private companies. While others argue that this should be supported by corporations, I agree with the view that scientific research should be funded and supervised by the state.

The private sector argue that they are willing to researching science but there are two significant dangers in this. In terms of the quality and objective of research its, companies which carry this out may be to tempted to manipulate the results to maximize profits. There are numerous scandals as a result of new products being introduced hurriedly after inadequate trials. For example, thalidomide, developed by a German drug company, which resulted in the birth of thousands of malformed children. From the ethical perspective, if the research of all fields such as genetic engineering is carried out by corporations which may lead to negative consequences for society. For example, genetically modified crops ,unproven effects, can be taken a toll on ecosystems due to meddling with nature.

Although governments have more important concerns, but it is essential that they should be responsible for scientific research. First, the highest standard can be set by providing funds for university departments to carry out the high-quality research, to bring more benefits for society, not to break into new markets to gain a competitive edge. Knowledge is accumulated can be shared worldwide throughout academic community. Second, government decision-making is the best way to prioritize expenditure on specific field research, taking into consideration the needs of society, both present and future. One example is the development of renewable energy to meet growing demands.

In conclusion, I strongly agree with the idea governments should bear sole responsibility for scientific research.