Tourism today creates a variety of problems, such as pollution due to flights, traffic congestion and water pollution. Do you think that governments should impose extra taxes on flights or accommodation to restrict today’s tourism industry? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge.

Today, it is argued that tourism originates problems such as pollution environmentally in air and water, and traffic congestion. However, government have to implement more taxes on air transport or accommodation to limit the tourism sector.

First and foremost, it is believed that tourist activities cause several problematic issue because of flights, traffic jam, and polluting water, and these generate toxic particles in environment. That is to say, this industry needs to use fossil fuel to energize transport, especially flight-based transport and vessels, disposing chemical substances in water and air. For instance, Indonesia depends on international visit as the main source of treasury revenue, consequently this nation relies on petrol as fuel of vessels and planes, resulting the amount of carbon dioxide released in ocean and on atmosphere. Therefore, this increases the acidity of ocean and alters the temperature of climate to be warm.

To tackle this, It is true that authorities should regulate the amount of taxes on flight and accommodation to reduce the detrimental impacts of tourism world, just like environmental taxes. This is because when governments apply a national rule for transport and housing rent agents to pay the amount of money due to the carbon output, this will give a limitation to tourist coming in the country to decrease the number of the aforementioned problem. For example, Japan have implemented carbon taxes since 2019, and this resulted a decline of acid rain and coastal water in 2020. Furthermore, it was caused by this regulation to restrict the traffic congestion, and international flight, being one of the most eco-friendly nations in the world, probably.

In conclusion, it is a firm belief that tourism reveals environment more detrimentally, so that the national regulators should restrict the flight and accommodation of travelling industry. Where possible, authorities should implement eco-friendly tourism.