The tradition that the family gets together to eat meals is disappearing.

What are the reasons? What are the impacts?

It is true that the meal-time of traditional family is vanishing in to the past . There are, of course some reasons which can explain for this changing pattern of behaviors, and there are extreme impacts on family life and member's health.

There are some clear reasons why family's members no longer share meal-time with each other as they used to do in the past. Firstly, adults have to face of economic pressure, in modern world to get more money for their family, and children sometime must eat alone when their parents work. Secondly, children are often impatient to eat at table, and parents usually allow them to have a meal in front of television or sitting in with a laptop beside them, especially for single-parent households when they do not have time to eat with their children.

The consequences for family life and for children's health are serious. From perspective of the home, meals taken by family's members are an important feature of a stable family background. This tranquility of family's routine is essential factor in growing children's personality during their formative years. In the terms of children's health, family meals were an opportunity to help all the family's members with a healthy diet, especially home-made foods. Without this stability, children are sometimes left to have junk-food, fast-food chain or sugary cakes. The result, obesity and hypertension could be accounted for the failure of habit to eat a balanced diet.

In conclusion, some reasons could be responded for the decline of family's meal-time and the impacts are greatly negative.