The tradition that family gets together to eat meals is disappearing What are the reasons What are the impacts

In the past, eating meals together is the long-standing culture of Vietnamese families, especially dinners. However, it is true that the absence of meals taken together is becoming more popular, instead, they are opting for grabbing a quick meal at the restaurants or cafeterias nowadays. As far as I am concerned, I believe that the disappearance of family meals can be explained and several negative impacts can be anticipated.

First of all, there are two reasons why the family meals becoming rarely in recent years. In most modern families, both spouses are the breadwinner to support their family's finance, hence which makes it challenging for them to have the incentive to spend time cooking and eating meals together. Some even have to undertake overtime work and do not arrive home until midnight due to the fact that earning a living so they purchase processed- food to time-saving. The second reason is that children are always busy engaged in their extracurricular activities at school or even have to attend extra classes after school, children choose the ready meals instead of returning home and eating with family.

It is easy to realize that there are dire consequences on family life and people's health. The family background is affected by lack of communication of family members, meals are taken together is the chance to strengthen their bonding, especially the disappearance of family meals can lead to unhealthy development of a child's personality in their formative years, children often exchange their thoughts and feelings as well as receive timely the guidance and advice from parents, which often take place in family meals as the way parents are educating their kids. Besides that, The long-term consumption of fast food or processed food is unhealthy for people, is a reason causing many diseases such as obesity, high blood pressure, and so on.

To sum up, there are various reasons why the lack of eating meals together becoming popular and the negative influence of this issue to the family life is undoubted.