Traffic and accommodation problems are increasing and government should encourage some business to move from cities to rural areas. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is argued that entrepreneurs should move their business to the countryside due to traffic and housing issues. Although there are some drawbacks of this policy, I believe that these are outweighed by the benefits.

On the one hand, the movement of businesses from metropolitan areas to the outskirts could adversely affect their operation. The first problem is that the new location will be far from companies’ target customers. As a result, these potential customers would opt for other alternative products or services in the city instead of traveling between distant places to meet their needs, which makes a significant reduction in firms’ revenue. The other major problem is that companies might face the risk of losing their high-quality workforce. It becomes clear that no one is willing to settle down in the suburbs where there is a lack of facilities, such as public transit vehicles, shopping centers or medical services. Thus, they would choose to seek another job to maintain their current living standards.

On the other hand, I believe moving business centers from cities to suburban areas would be much more beneficial. First of all, such relocation of organisations could help to relieve overcrowding in the urban areas. The clearest example of this is that people from rural areas, who work for those companies, would no longer have to travel to city centers to work, thus reducing the demand for accommodation and the intensity of traffic during peak hours. Secondly, by adopting this policy, these firms could create more opportunities, boosting the development of deprived areas. For instance, countryside dwellers can opt to work in factories with higher pay rather than agricultural work, which can help them improve their standards of living, thereby paving way for the growth of the national economy.

In conclusion, while I acknowledge that companies could be negatively affected when relocating to less-developed provinces, I believe that governments should implement this policy because of considerable benefits to our society.