It is more important to spend public money on promoting a healthy lifestyle in order to prevent illness than to spend it on treatment of people who are already ill. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that taxpayers’ money should be allocated to improve residents’ health rather than to focus on treating patients. I strongly agree with this opinion since disease prevention is much cheaper, and being healthy is always better than being hospitalised.

First of all, knowing how to lead a healthy life is more cost-effective than spending massive amounts of money curing a particular disease. For instance, the cost of a balanced diet containing fundamental nutrients including meat, fish and vegetables is within the financial capacity of even the underprivileged. In contrast, the expenditure on medical treatments of such serious diseases as cancer and diabetes often costs an arm and a leg, which would be an enormous problem for the majority of residents, but cannot guarantee the possibility of being completely cured. Therefore, instead of

spending a huge sum of money on treatment, allocation of the governments’ budget on promoting people’s health is deemed a much wiser investment.

Secondly, it is more beneficial to be fit and healthy than to be confined to the hospital ward surrounded by drugs and medical devices. In fact, maintaining positive eating habits or doing physical exercises, despite spending a decent amount of time at the initial stage, yields more favourable results than losing parts of one’s life into being trapped with crutches or heavily dependent on medical treatments. For example, people would definitely not choose to have chemotherapy if they have chances to protect themselves by leading a healthy lifestyle.

In conclusion, prevention is always better than cure, and thus promoting healthy living to prevent the upstream causes of ill health is the better budget spending.