The trend of online shopping is increasing. What effect does it have on environment and society

E-shopping is gaining ground in this modern world. Presently, people are more eager to buy products online which increase the demand of online shopping. However, it has also some drawbacks. Here, I, would like to account for the adverse effects of e-shopping on environment and society.

There are several effects on the society. First and foremost, with the coming of online shopping people are becoming extravagant. To justify, on the internet several shopping sites are present which give heavy discounts on the products specially on the festive occasions and also attract people as products are available at reasonable prices. So, people buy things unnecessarily about thinking its need. Besides this, people are buying products online inspite of traditional shopping which is affecting the sale of shopkeepers as recent study concluded that sale of local retailers declined by 40% last year. Thence, retailers are facing a huge loss in business.

Effects of online shopping is not limited to society but also it has a bad impact on environment. To start with, online shopping leads to heap of rubbish. To illustrate, when people order products from internet they are well-packed with several layers of paper or plastic which is a garbage later as people throw this on streets, in water and at several other places this leads to pollution and cause

global warming. Hence, it is not difficult to understand, e-shopping has a harmful imapct on environment.

In conclusion, after having all points into my knowledge, i would like to assert that internet shopping should be done in a limit, if people want to live a healthy and pollution free life.