Under British and Australian laws a jury in a criminal case has no access to information about the defendant's past criminal record. This protects the person who is being accused of the crime.

Some lawyers have suggested that this practice should be changed and that a jury should be given all the past facts before they reach their decision about the case.

Do you agree or disagree?

Some lawyers in Great Britain and Australia argued that jury has the right to access to information about the defendant's in previous criminal cases. I completely agree with this opinion and the reason will be discussed as below points.

First of all, given access will allow them to clarify every aspect of the case and know all details, for instance, in some countries juries are allowed to read and know all the information about the case and that leads to accurate decision and less innocent people at the prison, furthermore, most of countries who apply that law have less prisons and according to less crimes, as there are many families suffer from the wrong judgements.

Secondly, if this law added to the law's list, it will let them make the accurate decision and fair judgment without any failure, however it will not be in all the criminal cases but at least most of them. for example, in one of news paper was mentioned that after the accused got executed, they have discovered that he was innocent person, in the meanwhile the real criminal was outside the jail. that means less information or limited information access will lead to make a wrong judgement in a critical cases.

in conclusion, In my opinion, laws practice should be amended to allow the jury to be given all the facts before they take any resolution about the case, because it will allow them to see all the side of the case, also they will be in the right perspective as well.