Under British and Australian laws a jury in a criminal case has no access to information about the defendant's past criminal record. This protects the person who is being accused of the crime.

Some lawyers have suggested that this practice should be changed and that a jury should be given all the past facts before they reach their decision about the case.

Do you agree or disagree?

Certain laws are designed to be lenient towards first-time offenders and punitive for repeat offenders. In some countries such as British or Australia, the defendant’s past criminal record is not published in order to prevent bias against repeat offenders. However, this has been open to discussion that a jury should be given all the past facts before convicting. To avoid trumped-up charges, I am more convinced that the accused’s past record should be provided to the jury.

Previous history of the defendant; to some extent, can help in deciding accurate verdicts based on the severity of the perpetration. For example, repeat offenders or serial murders should be punished stringently. Because after rehabilitation, they intentionally reoffend and this is a threat as well as disturbance for society. As a matter of fact, some criminals are not regretful and impenitent with what they have done. On the other hand, there are many sad stories appearing in the newspaper everyday like children losing their parents, families losing the breadwinner. Is it their fault? Therefore, when the jury can decide the unanimous verdict, it is also the way to fair return to innocent people.

A first-time offender may commit crime without a choice. For instance, some people are kind but due to the financial problems, they resort to crime. In another situation, a girl may commit murder in order to protect herself from being raped. In other words,breaking the law as a last resort such as self-defense should not be compared with committing a crime intentionally. In those cases, the past record can be taken into consideration and the stainless history can save the defendants from life imprisonment or death sentence. Hence, this is beneficial for innocent people and helps the jury avoid miscarriages of justice.

In conclusion, with all evidence and arguments given above, the jury should be made aware of the comprehensive past records of the defendant to make judgements without misjudging.