Computers are now the basis of the modern world. They should therefore be introduced into classrooms, and their programs used for direct teaching purposes. However, dependence on computers in teaching may carry a certain degree of risk to students. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

The proliferation of the Internet as well as the computer has created a challenge in twenty-first-century education. The fast-developing modern world puts a lot of pressure on educational systems and set its expectations very high. Educators all over the world are trying to optimize the teaching methods in order to prepare students of today that await them in the future. However, it is impossible to ignore the certain ramifications that come along with the digitalization of education. This essay will examine pros and cons of integrating computers into classrooms and ways to minimize potential risks for students.

With the rapid development of technology, more and more jobs require advanced levels of computer literacy. Therefore, in almost all jobs nowadays, proficient computer use becomes an essential requirement for job seekers. Taking that into consideration, educational systems have to adjust their programs in order to meet the requirements of the industry 4.0 era. Another reason to include computer-based education programs into the learning process is because they are effective, engaging and fun. For example, a game named Kahoot! is widely used as a judicious way to help students review the lessons at classes in lieu of assigning manifold paper homeworks for them. Moreover, another evidence to prove the power of computers in education is that, by virtue of Covid pandemic since 2020, many schools have been closed. In other words, lessons have been mainly run by the online apps such as Zoom or Google Meeting. To some extent, with the support of computers, the process and the way of learning are improved better.

However, high dependence on technology in education has certain ramifications. As a matter of fact, many children, nowadays, immerse themselves in the Internet and computer games. Many parents are concerned that internet addiction may lead to the deterioration of studying for children. Moreover, the lack of face-to-face communication and socialization among children partly comes from too much screen time. The repercussion of this is some children are taciturn in communicating with others; in the long run, that children may face autism.

To sum up, the aforementioned arguments indicate that computers play an important role in modern education but adverse effects are inevitable. However, I do believe in the positive side of this situation if the parents as well as teachers can guide and train students how to use computers as beacons to help their study and knowledge. Last but not least, as Bill Gates said, “Technology is just a tool. In terms of getting the kids working together and motivating them, the teacher is the most important.”