Under British and Australian laws a jury in a criminal case has no access to information about the defendant's past criminal record. This protects the person who is being accused of the crime.

Some lawyers have suggested that this practice should be changed and that a jury should be given all the past facts before they reach their decision about the case.

Do you agree or disagree?

In British and Australian criminal trials, the defendant’s past facts are not referred to the jury, with a view to protecting the very human rights. Some lawyers, on the other hand, have been against this practice and claimed for a rational change in the law, stemming from the belief in the significant contribution of past records to the judges’ final decision. From my perspective, I do agree with the latter viewpoint for two main reasons which will be discussed thoroughly in this essay.

It is commonly assumed that the history of one person, including good behaviors or wrong – doings, reflects authentically their personality traits and mental status. Psychologically, they are believed to be motives for crimes. According to some research, several severe commitments, especially ruthless murders, drug or slavery trades, have been conducted by experienced culprits with past criminal records under professional illegal organizations. While admittedly this practice may hamper the human rights, provoking an intuitive judgement from the jury, it is not a groundless change in the law. In fact, the approach to the defendant’s past establishes a decisive basis of the case, which enables the jury to reach a more sensible decision.

Another reason is that the level of sentence is adjustably imposed, depending on the number of the offenders’ attempts and their attitude towards that conduction. For instance, some being first – time convicted are deemed to get the lowest level while others repeating excessively the same crime or different severe ones simultaneously will be sentenced to imprisonment or death. Moreover, the background of some offenders with one decent and benevolent aspect or some good doings in the past can help to reduce the measure of punishment since the court may partially be convinced in their positive edification as time passes.

In conclusion, it is inevitable that a comprehensive source of information about the defendant, including their past facts, will help the jury to make a rational, appropriate and flexible decision, with less errors and mistakes.