Some people believe that it is more important to teach children the literature of their own country than other countries. Do you agree or disagree?

Literature is one part of the culture, reflecting the history, traditions and unique features of one people. Therefore, it is commonly believed that the education for children should prioritize their national literature over that of other countries. From my perspective, this belief is completely irrational, since both types of literature play equal roles in the development of children.

The intrinsic value of local literature is the knowledge that is passed from generation to generation, through which, children gain the insight into ancestry lives through good times and bad times of the history. For instance, in Vietnam, my country, while the popular “Truyen Kieu” of Nguyen Du demonstrates the precarious life of women in the ancient society, provoking the sense of sympathy for them, works of literature written in the time of war arouse the sorrow of loss and death. Moreover, teaching children the literature of their own country is one of most effective methods to improve their mother tongue and enrich their vocabulary. In fact, literature portrays distinct pictures of each nations’ common life and customs, which is a key to distinguishing one people to the others. From this base, children maintain their unique identification, acquire general proper perspective and ways of behaving, more importantly, enhance their patriotism.

On the other hand, children also reap several benefits from learning the literature of other countries. As the matter of fact, children are given the opportunities to get exposed to diverse foreign cultures and the world marvelous history. There are some concerns that getting deeply attached to this type of literature may shape the children’s inappropriate points of view which are opposed to their native ones. However, in the era of globalization, integration is utterly essential, contributing to the importance of foreign literature. It is a crucial preparation for children, especially for travelling, studying or working abroad. From learning that, they obtain knowledge of other countries in order to avoid mistaken behaviors and have appropriate etiquette when interacting with foreigners.

In conclusion, both types of literature positively influence on a child’s development. With all benefits above, I strongly believe that a modern and up – dated education must involve teaching the local literature and the foreign one in equal measure.