Universities should accept equal numbers of male and female students in every subject.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Equality is an issue that has gained greater publicity recently. Although I believe men and women should have equal opportunities to develop, it is unfair and impractical to ensure the same number of both genders in every university course.

To begin with, recruiting the same proportion of men and women on all degree courses is simply out of the question. Obviously, the number of students in any given course is dependent on the application that the institution receives. Therefore, if the university were to fill each course with equal numbers of both sexes, it would need sufficient applicants of each site. In reality, some courses are more popular among one gender than the other, such as arts and languages where females by and large predominate. For these reasons, it is unrealistic for any university or college to only open a course when the register numbers of both genders are the same.

Apart from the concern expressed above, it is also unfair to base admission to university classes on gender. An educational institution should be entitled to the right to select the appropriate candidates for their courses. In this way, accepted male and female candidates are at the relatively similar level of competency, which means they can fairly compete with each other. However, if an able student is rejected because of a school’s preference for numbers, then not only is this school unethical, but also fails to function as an agent of producing capable workforce for society. As a consequence, this illogical policy could result in groups of disaffected graduates who were either turned down by their desired schools or forced to study the major they were not interested in. it is not a surprise if they cannot contribute much to society.

In conclusion, the selection of university students should be based on merits, and it would be both impractical and unfair to change to a selection procedure based on gender.