Universities should accept equal numbers of male and female students in every subject.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

I believe that both genders should be given equal chances to enroll in their favorite subjects. However, universities should not apply this method to every subject.

On the one hand, it is unfair to appraise an application form based on gender differences. Since the most important factor when considering a candidate is their competitiveness and the ability to follow the courses’ instructions, receiving students due to whether they are male or female may not yield accurate results. If a student accepted is not sufficiently qualified for the course, the quality of the program may be negatively affected. Another point is that everybody has a right to receive the education that best suits them; therefore, it is a violation of human right to evaluate one’s compatibility for a subject based on their sex preferences.

On the other hand, it is unpractical that universities can gather enough candidates to have a class with equal proportion of men and women. Firstly, it is obvious that choosing which subject to learn is based on the demands and peculiarities of each student. Therefore, it is ludicrous for students to change their preferences according to gender equality. For example, a pupil who has a passion for arts are not willing to attend technology classes because they find technology is dry and tedious. Furthermore, there are certain traits belonging to each gender that make one more skillful at a specific field than another. Women are typically more gentle, careful and sympathetic which make them more suitable for majors requiring those traits such as healthcare and arts. In contrast, men are suitable with technology and law because they are considered as risk-takers and be more assertive.

In conclusion, my opinion is that universities should extend equal opportunities to both female and male considering their majors. However, it is advisable that the number of each gender’s attendants for every subject is flexible according to the peculiarity of each class.