University should accept equal number of male and female students in every subject. To want extent to you agree or disagree. Give reasons and include any relevant example from your own knowledge or experience

The writer argued that the university should accept equally number of males and female students in every subject, this will not only lead to lack of meritocracy in the admission process but also it negated the fact that sometimes there is significant difference between the number of each gender that apply to a particular subject.

In some subjects, the number of each gender that apply is significantly different, for example, more women tend to apply to Nursing Science than men while Mechanical Engineering tends to have more male applicants. Furthermore, let us imagine a hypothetical situation where the department of Mechanical Engineering in a university received 200 applications with 180 and 20 male and female applicants respectively. The department has the capacity to admit 100 students, going by the writer’s argument the department should admit only 40 students since the number of admitted female students should equate that of male students. The department will be operating below it capacity and this is not sustainable.

More so, the policy if deployed will significantly discourage meritocracy since the university admission board will be working hard to ensure equal number of each gender in all department. Imagine a situation where 100 boys and 200 girls applied to the department of Nursing Science in certain university and the department is to admit 200 students. However, after the entrance examination 150 girls passed the required cutoff mark while only 50 boys were able to make the minimum required score. Following the policy and for the department to operate at its capacity, they should admit the 100 boys irrespective of the fact that only 50 of them actually passed the entrance examination while leaving out 50 girls that actually passed the interest examination.

In conclusion, I strongly disagree with the writer because if such policy is implemented it will definitely harm the spirit of meritocracy in the admission process and render the number of students admitted in each course subject to the number of applicants from both genders which does no good to anyone.