University students always focus on one specialist subject, but some people

think universities should encourage their students to study a range of subjects

in addition to their own subject. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that students in university are now placing much attention on the subjects related to their own future career. However, some critics argue that universities should resort to some measures to have their students study more diverse subjects. Studying more subjects makes students become more mature to some extent, yet I believe that it is legitimate for them to merely focus on their major subjects.

On the one hand, learning/mastering more subjects bring people more knowledge and a well-rounded perspective of life. It is undeniable that many subjects in the tertiary curriculum are very important in practical terms. For example, History teaches young generations about how their ancestors fought against outside intruders and made sacrifices to protect their motherland and the sovereignty of their nations. Therefore, this subject fosters a sense of patriotism for the students.

However, the intense syllabus of universities often makes students feel overwhelmed with a great amount of information to cram in.

On the other hand, in the digital era, people need to be skillful in the major they choose to pursue. It appears indisputable that studying many subjects would distract students from their specialty. Moreover, along with the information explosion, people can easily mitigate their lack of knowledge after graduating from universities. Information is now widely available on the Internet with high accuracy. Besides, encouraging students to focus on some subjects can effectively build up a strong workforce which has the ability to foster general prosperity of a nation.

In conclusion, although some people argue that students should study more subjects, I would side with those who believe it is indispensable for tertiary students to excel in one field of expertise