University students always focus on one specific subject, but some people think that universities should encourage their students to study a wide range of subjects in addition to their own subject. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Tertiary education is seen as the foundation of one's career prospect.However, people display different views regard whethers students should attend one particular subject or vice versa. In my opinion, acquiring knowledge of different fields carries more benefits

On one hand, there is a widely accepted notion that studying one subject enables students to devote themselves to that area and seek to become professionals. This is particularly true in the case of learning subjects such as law, medical and engineering, which require years of theoretical knowledge and training. Since the time constraints, students have to throw themselves into the area of interest rather than taking other subjects. However,such students are more likely to have less career path. For example, psychology students may end up working as a psychologist or a consultant.

On the other hand, common sense tells us that one can acquire more practical skills and knowledge if he/she enrolls a variety of courses, which potentially enhance student's employability. This is especially true in this day and age. Companies opt to recruit employees with multi-skills and a wide range of academic knowledge. For instance, if an accounting student is familiar with marketing and human resource management, perhaps he/she would be able to present more strategically advices in terms of company operation. In addition, students who exposed to different subjects are easier to find where their passion is located. Especially for first year students, attending other subjects allows them to reconsider their goals and choose the correct pathway towards their future studies.

In conclusion, although the advantage of focusing on one field of studying is evident, I am of the opinion that students benefit more from learning broadly.