The use of mobile phones is as antisocial as smoking Smoking is banned in certain places so mobile phones should be banned like smoking To what extent do you agree or disagree

In spite of the utilitarian applications that mobile phones have brought to human beings, many believe that using these electronic devices is akin to smoking due to its deleterious effects on society. Consequently, some argue that there should be a prohibition on public usage of smartphones. In my opinion, mobile phone usage should be restricted in public, not completely banned.

To commence with, proponents of this viewpoint assert that it is essential to impose a ban on the use of smartphones in public as it poses detrimental threats to people’s health, which bears resemblance to smoking cigarettes. As chronic smoking damages people’s lungs due to the presence of nicotine and other poisonous substances contained in cigarettes, excessive contact with smartphone displays can cause the eyes to be strained and severely sore, which gradually depletes people’s eyesight, or even leads to permanent blindness. By way of illustration, several surveys conducted by Taiwanese researchers have indicated that the incidence of myopia and retinal detachment among the island’s teenage population is drastically increasing and many ascribe this phenomenon to the increasing hours spent on phones. Due to the detriments resulting from the immoderate use of cellular phones, many contend that a strict forbiddance on smartphones, at least in public places, could alleviate the situation.

With that being said, I affirm that smartphone usage ought to only be limited, not utterly disallowed. This can be justified by the fact that cellular phones have been an indispensable part of millions of people’s lives. For instance, in many parts of the world, citizens have shifted from traditional to modern payment owing to several digital banks, which is a more beneficial and less time-consuming method. Should a complete ban on mobile phones in public be enacted, this promulgation will cause numerous problems for people, especially those residing in urban areas, and elevate the risk of pickpocketing. Moreover, in several emergencies such as house fires or traffic accidents, having a phone in hand enables people to call rescue services, thus ensuring victims’ lives. However, it is crucial that people limit the amount of time spent on phones in order to maintain a healthy lifestyle, as well as consolidating relationships between individuals thanks to physical contact and real-life conversations with others.

In conclusion, from my perspective, while both smoking and using phones in public areas can occasion several problems, it is imprudent to prohibit the latter. In lieu, it is more rational that people reduce their screen time daily for various health reasons.