The use of social media is replacing face to face interaction among many people in society Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages

In the present days, online social mediums are taking over direct interaction's place among individuals in the modern society. Even though the benefits those platforms carry are notable, their drawbacks totally outweigh the advantages for two main reasons: they make people idle and prevent them from having the necessary social skills.

The use of social media decreases human's physical ability. As obvious as it is, social media has the power to attract people's attention, drag them into an endless loop of constantly consuming contents online and make them an addict. This leads to a indifference in physical activities, which are already less appealing to most of the public, hence results in a decline in overall public health. For example, statistics show that the more frequently people use social networks, the less they are capable of handling moderate physical tasks that used to be easy for them to do.

Lack of social skills is also a problematic issue. Not only people's interest in physical activities is going down, they also are less encouraged to socializing in real life. This can be attributed to the convenience social networks brings to the table. However, lacking essential skills such as cooperating, working in group and communicating can leave a detrimental effect on people's career or personal life. For instance, research show that graduated pupils have smaller chances of being accepted for a position in accompany if they do not have the required skills.

In conclusion, the downsides greatly outweigh the merits as social media discourage people to involved in beneficial activities and make them short of the fundamental social skills.