The use of social media, such as Facebook and Twitter, is replacing face-to-face contact in this century. Do you think the advantages of this way outweigh the disadvantages?

Since the outbreak of the internet, online social media has become a better choice for the people to stay in touch rather than meeting in person. While online socializing offers great benefits, I believe the advantages of meeting via the internet cannot outweigh its disadvantages.

To begin with, online social media is a tremendous invention of the internet corporations to the people. With the help of Facebook and Twitter, individuals can now communicate with the others or arrange a business meeting between multiple participants with just a few clicks. Furthermore, many features from these websites allow people to share their thoughts, feelings or opinions with their acquaintances without having to meet in person. Lastly, using this type of contacting people definitely saves a huge amount of time. With all these merits, it is quite obvious why some people say Facebook and Twitter are replacing the old-school type of face-to-face contact.

However, there are several drawbacks of using these means of socializing. Firstly, since the internet connection is always required, people are unable to use these websites in some remote areas. For example, smartphones are usually out of signal on high mountains where attract many tourists, thus people will not be able to post any pictures they take at that moment. Secondly, scientists say that socializing with people online will degrade human’s emotion, thus making people more robotic. In contrast, face-to-face contact will strengthen bonds between people.

In conclusion, I believe that old-school communication cannot be replaced by social media because the advantages of online socialization does not outweigh its disadvantages.