the use of social media,such as Facebook and Twitter, is replacing face-to-face contact in this century. DO you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

While I accept that social media sites facilitate communication between people, I also believe that they have some negative effects on social skills. Overall, I would argue that drawback in communication skills of these social media outweighs their benefits. On the one hand, one of those advantages is that social media might help people living far apart could interact with each other. For example, people post the latest news on facebook, which allows either their family or their friends to keep abreast of what has been happening and to nearly real interact by leaving their comments below the status. In addition, another advantage of those is that patients who have psychological problems such as autism could exchange pieces of information to other people more easily. On the other hand, I would argue that the disadvantages of social media, both mentally and physically, outweigh the benefits they bring. First, social media could have a negative impact on the physical health of people who use it directly. For example, many people choose to surf on facebook or Instagram after the workday or on weekends instead of going out, which means that their eyes do not have time to relax, so they may be at greater risk for eye diseases such as myopia in children, as well as retinal degeneration in adults. In some severe cases, blindness may even occur. Second, people use social media a lot and may tend to discourage a real conversation. When obsessed with facebook or Twitter or other sites, some young people, in particular, are reluctant to spend time with real friends and family. As a result, not only are their social skills such as soft skills and communication skills limited, but they are likely to become victims of online scams and cyber crams In conclusion, I believe that the disadvantages of this trend, especially in the aspects of social communication, outweigh the advantages they bring back.