Vietnamese educators are divided on whether the current system of high schools for the gifted should be maintained. Whilst some argue that the system may promote unhealthy competition or unnecessary stress among students, and therefore should be abolished, many others have praised the merits of those schools and voiced strong approval of their existence.

What advantages can school for the gifted offer to their students and to the society? Write 250-300 words.

There is a controversy among educational experts in Vietnam about whether they should keep the high school system for talented children these days. Although it may cause their students to commit to unhealthy competitions or put unnecessarily extra pressure, the existence of these institutions also betters their learners particularly and the community generally.

Firstly, participating in this system helps develop the students themselves. As the schools are places for talented ones to gather, they may perceive that they need to keep up with the others and self-attempt. Students can also access large resources of information about the subjects into which they want to have a deep insight, meaning that those educational places help broaden their knowledge of what they are fond of. Moreover, the learners in gifted schools usually have similar educational pursuits, which helps them strike up friendships more easily as they know what to talk about and how to discuss them, and also improve their social skills.

Secondly, the gifted academy system also advantageously contributes to society. By providing necessary and appropriate conditions to accelerate talented ones’ education, they help to orient the learners properly. With the knowledge they derive from the schools’ teachers and mates, gifted ones will devote themselves to the nation afterward in their field. Actually, we can easily find an experienced doctor, a dedicated nurse, a pharmacist, or a Ph.D. who graduated from gifted schools. Those cases of people who have brought so many benefits to society help to strengthen the idea of not removing such schools.

To sum up, besides drawbacks, gifted schools are also advantageous for both the learners and the community as mentioned above. Therefore, I believe that these academies cannot be replaced or abolished notwithstanding how many objections there are.