Walking is known to be beneficial to health and yet, fewer and fewer people are

walking these days.

What are the reasons for this? What can be done to tackle this problem?

Physical exercises, such as walking, have an important role to play in keeping fit and living a healthy life, but an increasing number of people are giving up on this activity these days. This emerging trend is ascribed to many factors and there are some workable solutions that should be adopted to deal with this.

There are many compelling reasons why fewer and fewer people are willing to walk on a regular basis in recent years. One of the main causes is that there is an acute shortage of designated places for citizens to have a walk, especially in metropolitan areas. This results from the fact that in modern times, the government and authorities often give priority to construction for residential and business purposes and therefore neglect planning areas for physical activities such as parks, squares, and public gardens. Another plausible explanation is the domination of cutting-edge technology in modern life, which nurtures a sedentary lifestyle. Young adults, for example, tend to use their smartphones excessively for recreational activities like playing games, watching movies, and listening to music rather than going outside to have a walk.

In order to address this problem, a number of effective measures are available. The first viable way is for governmental agencies and authorities to build more parks and playgrounds. This creates favorable spaces for outdoor activities and consequently motivates dwellers to walk more. Secondly, schools, companies and local authorities should make a concerted effort to hold weekly or monthly walking competitions for both children and adults to partake in. These events would not only raise public awareness about the benefits of exercises but also, with prizes, really urge them to practice. Each individual, therefore, would become more health-conscious and gradually corporate this activity into their daily routine.

In conclusion, more and more people avoid walking due to the lack of public places and the proliferation of technology, but this problem can be tackled by building more public places and holding regular walking contests. Implementing these viable measures simultaneously could exert positive impacts on the public's physical and mental health, and hopefully, each person will actively walk more for their own good.