Walking is known to be beneficial to health and yet fewer and fewer people are walking these days What are the reasons for this What can be done to tackle this problem

Walking has long been acknowledged as a healthy activity but people are increasingly unwilling to walk in the contemporary age. Reasons for this trend vary, but workable solutions are available to encourage individuals to have a walk regularly.

To begin with, the decreased popularity of walking can be ascribed to two main factors. One significant reason is the appearance of convenient modes of transport. As options such as the car and bus can allow commuters to travel quickly and conveniently, people are likely to prefer them to walking even though the distance is relatively short. By contrast, it would take walkers more time to reach their destinations and sometimes, unfavorable weather conditions may make walking a less attractive choice. Moreover, in most high-rise buildings, lifts and escalators have been installed. These modern machines are able to save people’s moving time, so gradually those who live or work in multi-story buildings would lose their interest in using the stairs.

However, to rekindle people’s interest in walking, the following methods should be implemented simultaneously. First, the health benefits of walking should be promoted on the mass media. Because many people are still ignorant of the advantages of this activity, proper education through local, regional and national television as well as radio broadcasts might solve the problem. If the importance of walking is realized, people would proactively sacrifice few minutes to have a walk either in a building or on the street. Second, walking experiences should be made more enjoyable. For instance, 3D paintings should be added to the walls along the stairs or more trees and plants need to be put in the corridors. These

added features would excite people and they would be more likely to use the stairs.

In conclusion, walking is less preferred due to the advent of modern means of transport and technological equipment in buildings. Nevertheless, promotional campaigns and decorations along the stairs can help address the given problem.