We can get knowledge from news, but some people think we cannot trust journalists. What do you think? What qualities do you think a successful journalist should have?

Because of their prevalence, media have had a great impact on people’s lives in the modern world. While many people are thankful to media for being informative and knowledgeable, many cast doubts on the information they obtain from sources such as newspapers or television programs due to questions of the journalists' honesty. I am inclined to believe that the public should access information through media with a critical eye.

To begin with, it is true that the majority of journalists have to follow their boss’ visions when they are performing their duties and thus cannot convey everything honestly. journalists usually do their job by following themes, focusing on the youth for instance, or in a narrowly focusing on the subjects they are assigned. this causes the true, complete story to be broken into pieces to suit the limitation of their column or allotted broadcast time, bringing about unclear and inaccurate messages to audiences, not to mention the fact that sometimes descriptions can be changed to grab the audiences’ attention. Moreover, advertisements, business, and sometimes politics are working behind the scenes, influencing journalists to change what they are going to publish.

However, it seems unfair to generalize such a controversial field. many journalists have fought for truth. The illegal activities of industrial corporations, who try to sneak through the flaws in regulations to gain profits for their own, have been uncovered; cheating in elections and stories about human trafficking or powerful people’s illegal actions have been journalists’ consistent and sometimes life-threating works. Those journalists have contributed to exposing the truth, thereby establishing more equal societies.

To become successful journalists, some features could be considered as standards. First, writing ability is a must. this means not only being proficient in writing language, but also being able to communicate news brilliantly. Second, critical thinking and analyzing capabilities are highly regarded since these help journalists grasp and determine what is critical to be published. Finally, the eagerness to create good media also contributes to define successful journalists.

To conclude, media are dominant in our lives and information is immense. having sharp minds when reading, and perceiving news through media; being aware of the messaging behind the news can prevent audiences from being trapped by untrustworthy information.