Wealth does not necessarily guarantee happiness. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

For many people around the world money is the key to prosperity, and they think the more capital or wealth you have the happier you are. However, while I agree that money might render life easier, I believe that it isn’t a guaranty of happiness.

With regards to the possibility of conducing an unconcerned life, I can certainly state that money is a necessity. Therefore, in my opinion successful people do have less worries than poor ones. They can buy not only the first necessities for themselves and their families, but also everything they could dream of. Nevertheless, wealth usually attracts the wrong kind of people, pretending to be your friends, only to get a profit from the relationship. Consequently, rich people start distrusting even those who are loyal and honest to them, and they end up without friends.

In addition to this I believe that having plenty of money has bad consequences on your mental health, because you always desire for more: you work tirelessly to reach a goal that is unattainable. This can result in stress. Last but not least, rich people usually become selfish and always feel that those who are poor are con artists and after their prosperity.

To conclude, because of all these reasons I personally feel that too much wealth could be counterproductive and certainly not an ingredient for happiness. Were I to become rich, I hope I would be able to keep reasoning as a “normal” person and to maintain the good friendships that I have at the moment.