In many countries women no longer feel the need to get married. Some people believe that this is because women are able to earn their own income and therefore do not require the financial security that marriage can bring. Do you agree or disagree?

The lack of marriages in the last period of time is deemed to fall on the female wish of independence. However, while I believe that it isn’t the only motive, I agree that it is one of the main reasons why women no longer feel the necessity to be married in order to be financially safe.

With regards to the common belief, I can certainly state that our societies have greatly improved on trying to level the income differences between men and women referring to the same job positions; and this tendency has allowed women more independence and choices, such as whether to marry or not. Were I to marry someday, it would be only for love, certainly not for income security.

On the other hand, I truly believe that marriage is no longer as positive as it was for family finances. For instance, the child benefit amount, given by the Govern, is greater if the mother isn’t espoused, as well as the scholarship amount is far much greater if the female student isn’t married and is no longer living with her parents. Furthermore, another reason for the downward marriage trend could be that the number of atheists is climbing nowadays, so marrying is no longer a priority.

In conclusion marriage should be a choice that comes from within, and not from somebody else’s opinion or from the search of stability, because it can be reached by other manners, such as asking a government financial aid or by working. Only if we genuinely have faith in marriage, should we get married.