It is said that more refugees ought to be accepted by wealthy nations and provided them with basic aid like accommodation and food. From my viewpoint, I completely agree that developed countries should help refugees. First of all, wealthy countries are able to accept a larger number of refugees and support them with accommodation and food because they have the resources to do so and secondly, most developed countries have sufficient shelter capacity to meet the need for thousands of homeless.

Wealthy countries receive millions of dollars for their economic activities annually, and that income is enough to cover their annual budget and the surplus money could be channeled to supply refugees with food. Experts assert that the annual surplus budget from developed countries is about a billion dollars. For example, The International Monetary Fund revealed that the surplus funds just between the US and China was nearly 678 million dollars in the fiscal year 2015, and this alone would be sufficient to host and feed thousands of refugees.

Moreover, developed countries have adequate infrastructures to host a bigger number of immigrants and offer them the necessary assistance. The United States, Spain, and Russia, three of the countries with the largest economies, have the ability to provide accommodation to about 600 thousand homeless that enter their countries asking for asylum. The New York Times reported in 2015 that developed countries were officially recognized as countries which have more than enough shelters to offer more comfort to exiles.

To conclude, it is a great idea for rich countries to accept more refugees their nations and provide them the necessary aid because they have enough funds to do so, and adequate infrastructures to shelter more immigrants.