As well as making money, the business also have social responsibilities. Do you agree or disagree

It is argued that companies should be responsible for society besides generating profits. Although money plays a vital role in business operations, social issues are also equally important.

On the one hand, there are certain side benefits of raising money from business activity. Firstly, the more money earned from firms, the more jobs they create for the locality, this will reduce the jobless rate. For example, by making more profits, an international corporation such as Coca-Cola tends to expand the scale over the world, which creates more jobs in the region. Secondly, some enterprises which have an efficient business often pay more taxes for the government annually. As a result, the authorities use this money to re-invest rests of the field, such as developing the infrastructure, this does facilitate in transportation.

On the other hand, there are important reasons why businesses take into consideration social problems. Firstly, in terms of environmental effects, many production companies in developing countries are often irresponsible in the disposal of industrial wastes, giving rise to global warming recently. For example, instead of releasing chemical wastes to rivers, they could establish the drainage system, water pollution could be controlled. Secondly, they should donate money to charitable organizations such as Bill and Melinda Gates foundation or UNICEF. In this way, they not only improve the living standard of the poverty-stricken but also enhance their public images, it is such a win-win partnership.

In conclusion, for the reasons I have mentioned above, I hold my initial view that companies should maintain business activity and social responsibilities at the same time.