As well as making money, businesses also have a responsibility towards society.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a view that companies are responsible for society as well as pursuing their profit. I totally agree with this opinion for the following reasons.

The main reason why I agree with the view that businesses have a responsibility to society is that they can affect people’s life significantly. This means that products that are produced by companies can change people’s behavior and sometimes endanger human life. One good example is manipulating smartphones while driving. It has been a serious social problem in recent years because it causes many fatal traffic accidents. It is also possible to say that people are forced to live a busy life due to advanced technology developed by companies. In the past, people lived at a much slower pace before the advent of the Internet, while nowadays, many workers always have to check emails and reply to it quickly.

The second reason is that businesses also have an enormous effect on people’s health. This is because some products can be harmful to health. For the past few years, the number of patients with some diseases, such as straight neck syndrome or cataract, caused by heavy smartphone usage has been increasing significantly. This unfavorable trend results from corporate activities pursuing their profit and ignoring the possible detrimental effect on customers’ health. If companies had developed their products and called users’ attention to health risks in a responsible way, they could have prevented this situation from developing.

In conclusion, I agree with the statement that companies have social responsibility because they can have a significant influence on people’s life and health.