As well as making money, businesses also have social responsibilities. Do you agree or disagree?

People hold different opinions about the kind of obligations that a company should have. Although I partly agree that the top priority of an organization is to gain profits, I believe that they should also be in charge of society.

On the one hand, businesses have significantly contributed to their community when it comes to providing opportunities for citizens to get employment. One of the reasons is that if companies are successful, this will mean that they are able to expand their business, generating more job opportunities for the community. Some large multinational corporations, such as Apple and Microsoft, are good models, having created careers for thousands of individuals around the world, which helps to decrease the proportion of unemployment in many countries. Furthermore, as companies gain more profits, they will pay more in taxes to the government. These financial sources can be allocated to invest in vital fields such as education and healthcare, which will benefit all communities.

On the other hand, it is important that businesses take on social responsibility. First, since the increasing number of firms causes extremely dangerous threats to the environment, businesses need to immediately take proper measures in order to protect nature. For example, they are able to apply new technology in order to recycle trash instead of throwing it away instantly. Second, corporations also consider helping unfortunate people, such as the homeless and the disabled. This will not only contribute more to society but also improve their images or brands.

In conclusion, while companies should focus on creating profits to create jobs and contribute taxes to the authorities, I also think that they should have social responsibility to address environmental issues and enhance moral values.